Janome - Learning Center

Topic Title: Bobbin Colors
Topic Summary: Do they need to Match?
Created On: 10/06/2011 03:12 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/06/2011 03:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JDol

Does the Bobbin thread color need to match the needle threading color? I know... such a newbie question... :-)

-------------------------
....New (to me) MC10000 v3.0... I'm a newbie so bear with me!....
 10/06/2011 03:43 PM

Author Icon
devilcat

If you are doing regular sewing, or decorative stitches they should match. If you are embroidering it is advisable to use the special embroidery bobbin thread. It is much thinner and will usually give you better results. If for some reason your are having problems with your bobbin thread showing on the surface of the project, try lowering the needle tension and sewing more slowly. I do this every time I embroider especially if the design is dense and have never had birds nests or bobbin thread showing on top.

You will just love your machine. It is so good natured and reliable.

Jacquie

Ladysmith BC,Janome 12000, Bernina Record, Bernina 1150MDA serger, bit of a Luddite, garments not crafts
 10/06/2011 07:19 PM

Author Icon
JDol

Thanks Devilcat. by your note I take it there should be prewound embroidery bobbins for my MC? I'll look into that. I guess they'd be in B & W? I'll remember your notes on settings if bobbin thread shows through or I get "birdnests" Thanks

10/06/2011 07:39 PM

Author Icon
digimad