Janome - Learning Center
 
 
 
 
 
 
Topic Title: Need help with Scan n Sew model 240
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/22/2011 05:06 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/22/2011 05:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
malinka

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/22/2011

Dear All,
please help me if you know anything about Scan n Sew.
I've got one of them at home.It came with Memory Craft 8000.
When I'm trying to scan a design with the scaner and press scan button, machine switches itself off. Does anyone know what could be wrong and how to fix it?
Many thanks
 05/22/2011 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MOM

Posts: 2994
Joined: 03/09/2009

Scan and Sew is a very old software program. It is possible it is not compatible with the Version of your computer.

MOM
 06/09/2011 05:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Johanna

Posts: 1
Joined: 06/09/2011

Did you get an answer on your problem with the Scan n Sew? I am having the same problem. Any assistance would be appreciated.
 04/06/2013 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bettyboop1

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/05/2013

I also need info about scan and sew 240. What can you scan in addition to scan cards? Can you use it to transfer designs from CDs ? Does it operate without PC. Where can I find instruction manual.

-------------------------
Betty Davis
 04/06/2013 03:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
linlou

Posts: 106
Joined: 03/24/2011

I have a Scan and Sew that came with my 9000, but it says 241B on the bottom. I still use it a lot. I use it with my laptop which is an old XP and it works fine. It will not work on my big Windows 7. It would even have to have an adaptor to go from the fitting on the Scan and Sew to a USB fitting for the 7. I have the Personalizer 2000 Software on my laptop. I use that to transfer SEW Designs from CDs(or designs I have downloaded to the laptop) to the disk/card from the machine that has been placed in the Scan and Sew. My disk/card holds six designs. I have also digitized my own designs with out any problem. I have never had the scanner kick off, so I can't help you there.
I hope I have made this clear and if not please write again and I will try to explain better. You might try EBay for the instruction booklet. I have mine, but because of copyright I don't know about copying it.
 07/16/2013 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
flowersblossom

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/16/2013

Is a Scan n Sew 240 compatible with a MC 9000? I was told when I purchased the machine I could also use cd's made for the 8000 and I was told this will work on a MC 8000. Can anyone confirm this?

-------------------------
Carol Hartman
 07/17/2013 05:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CherylAnn

Posts: 3536
Joined: 05/27/2007

Carol,

CD's unfortunately won't work with the MC9000. When I registered my MC10000 many, many years ago, I got 487 designs from one of those older machines on CD. You can only use the cards that are specifically made by Janome for those machines - the 9000 can use (I think) the 8000's cards but not the reverse.

If you want to update your embroidery technology, you could look at the 350e or wait until the fall after Janome Institute to see if they upgrade that machine. It is an embroidery only machine but a lot less money than the 9900 or 12000 that both sew and embroider.

Cheryl

-------------------------
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada
Janome 15000, 12000, 4120, 760, 1200D Serger, Huskylock 926, Cover Pro 1000 & a few older sewing machines; my favourite computer games of DigitizerMBX v.4.5 with Cutwork, Floriani Total Control, & EQ7
 07/17/2013 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
linlou

Posts: 106
Joined: 03/24/2011

I still have my 9000 and won't part with it even though I love my 12000. It is true that 8000 cards work with the 9000 as I have some and use them. I was given a lot of Jamone cards recently by my dealer and so I still use the 9000 for those small designs as they are so nice and my 9000 does a beautiful job. I see that some of the instructions with the cards say they will not work on the 8000.
 08/19/2013 06:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cjoy1989

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/18/2013

I was wondering if anyone ever figured this out? I had the same problem last night with my Scan n Sew 240.

Edited: 08/19/2013 at 06:56 AM by cjoy1989
 08/19/2013 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CherylAnn

Posts: 3536
Joined: 05/27/2007

I'm thinking that no one has solved the problem as there was not another post on it. What machine do you use? That sometimes helps, as someone who maybe still has the machine has the software specific to it. So many years have gone by and those devices are so obsolete that there isn't a lot of help available for them anymore. I suggest you read all the material you have for it and play. You might just figure it out. It really is to bad that support for treasured gizmos fade away with time and new technology.

Cheryl

-------------------------
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada
Janome 15000, 12000, 4120, 760, 1200D Serger, Huskylock 926, Cover Pro 1000 & a few older sewing machines; my favourite computer games of DigitizerMBX v.4.5 with Cutwork, Floriani Total Control, & EQ7
 08/20/2013 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cjoy1989

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/18/2013

I'm using Janome MC 8000. The device doesn't attach to the machine, it just saves to a card that you put into the machine, unfortunately it will do all of the steps until you hit "scan" and then it cuts off.
 09/15/2014 09:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MacinSC

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/15/2014

I have not seen a solution to this problem and here it is 2014. I have been asked by an elderly lady to help her with her 240 and it has the " scan and power down" problem too. I have a label machine that does this on the power cube/wall wart power, yet it will start on batteries and then I can plug it in to do the labels. I will try this when I get some fresh batts. While this is old teckno, it would be great for her to use it.

-------------------------
Freedom,is knowing you, and your neighbors, eat until the next harvest, drink until the next rainfall, enabling us the energy to build strong safe communities.

Edited: 09/15/2014 at 09:34 PM by MacinSC
 09/15/2014 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MacinSC

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/15/2014

Ok, I have found that multiple plugging in/removing of the memory card has enabled the scan to complete. thinking maybe bad connection... Will re post if any new info is experienced.

-------------------------
Freedom,is knowing you, and your neighbors, eat until the next harvest, drink until the next rainfall, enabling us the energy to build strong safe communities.
 09/16/2014 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MacinSC

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/15/2014

well that didn't last long. Managed to scan a few images to the card , now back to power down on scan.

-------------------------
Freedom,is knowing you, and your neighbors, eat until the next harvest, drink until the next rainfall, enabling us the energy to build strong safe communities.
Statistics
91696 users are registered to the Janome forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.