Janome - Learning Center

Topic Title: Lower looper constantly unthreaded!
Topic Summary: 7034D problem
Created On: 04/12/2013 11:02 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/12/2013 11:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
niftythrifty

I have a Magnolia 7034D serger, and I have been using it for a few years. There has been a recurring malfunction since day one: The last "eye" in the lower looper thread path pulls out/comes unthreaded all the time. It seems pretty random. I rethread, from right to left according to the manual, using Maxi-lock thread. I have had a complete tune-up (all tensions reset, etc), changed the needles, tried different fabrics...all to no avail. It just. keeps. coming. unthreaded. It ran nicely after the tune-up for a little while (a few thread changes), and started again. I am a serger novice, so user error is a definite possibility...I just wish I knew what it was!

Could the diagrams of threading in the manual possibly be incorrect? Because I've followed it a million times.

*the dealer where I purchased the machine is a million miles away, and not terribly helpful anyway, so that route isn't a good option.
 04/12/2013 12:01 PM

Author Icon
devilcat

When you say you re-thread according to the diagrams, do you just re-thread the problem area? The manuals do not emphasize this, but you must un-thread everything - the loopers and needles and then re-thread starting with the loopers and then the needles. If you are already doing this, I am sure that one of the members who is more experienced with sergers will stip with a suggestion. Be sure to let us know what happens.

Jacquie

-------------------------
Ladysmith BC,Janome 12000, Bernina Record, Bernina 1150MDA serger, bit of a Luddite, garments not crafts
 04/12/2013 12:15 PM

Author Icon
jsm1144