Janome - Learning Center

Topic Title: Horizon
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/23/2010 06:12 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/23/2010 06:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Roxanne

Just wondering how everyone who bought the new Horizon is liking it? Is it a big improvement over the 6500/6600? Any complaints?
 06/23/2010 08:35 AM

Author Icon
bbbodinsky

The new machine is great. I traded in a 6500. Great lighting and quilting. I HATE the accessories storage. Why didn't they just stick to the box. I am going to get a box for my stuff.
 06/23/2010 11:44 AM

Author Icon
sewinmama

I didn't have the 6500/6600 but did purchase the Horizon and absolutely love it. I've been sewing on Janomes for the past 25 years and the Horizon is one of the best. The only thing I've missed so far is the low bobbin notification. I forget to check my bobbin and this notice would always remind me. I've sewn several seams without a bobbin. The learning curve is almost non-existent. My biggest learning problem was with the needle threader which was operator error not the machine (and was such a dumb error I'm not ever going to tell what it was.) Other than that, everything has been great, wonderful, awesome, etc. My favorite 3 things are the lighting, the single hole plate converter and the "built in walking foot". The stitches have been great, too, but I expected that from a Janome. Right now I've just sewn with the straight stitch. It's been so great to sew accurate seams with the quarter inch foot and the superior feed system that I've pieced 3 quilt tops and quilted one baby quilt in the four weeks I've had the machine. I've had so much fun with just the straight stitch that I'm almost afraid to see what else the Horizon will do. I do have to sleep at some point and if the other features are as great, I'll never sleep, cook, clean or do laundry again